It’s Time You Knew

It’s time you knew-at some unspecified time in the past, I fell in love. I fell in love with learning. I didn’t mean to, and I don’t know how I did it. Maybe it was this past summer, maybe it was last spring, or maybe last fall. All of my life before I fell in love with learning, my approach to anything I didn’t know or that was difficult was that if I didn’t have to know it, I didn’t want to know it. School subjects, especially the difficult ones like science and math, were obstacles to overcome, with an end goal of conquering them so that didn’t have to deal with them anymore.

Now, for some reason that I don’t know, especially what is advanced and difficult, interests me immensely. A curiosity I never asked for has taken ahold of me. Science, math, music, literature, theology, ideals- I want to know, and it excites me to think that I will be able to spend at least the next four years of my life devoting myself primarily to the art of learning and understanding and learning how to understand more. I know not what instilled this desire in me- but whatever it was, I am thankful for it.

Leave a Reply

