Pre-Area

Several weeks ago I made a post about Texas All-State Region 25 Region Choir. Well the next step in the audition process, Pre-Area, was this week.

My audition was great. Absolutely terrific.

For about the first sixteen measures, that is. Then I decided that it would be a good idea to come in on the tenor note instead of the baritone note and absolutely butcher the next four measures.

Then after that the rest of my audition was fantastic. My Bach was on point. My sixteenth note runs were nearly impeccable.

But, sadly, it didn’t matter how great my Bach was. The level of competition at the Region 25 Pre-Area audition is intense; it’s not the kind of audition you can make a mistake on and hope that you ‘ll still make it. If you screw up anything, you’re not going to make it to the next round of auditions.

So, needless to say, I didn’t make it in the top five, which was what I had to be to move on. So I guess that’s it, I’m a senior and will never have another chance to try out for the All-State choir. I didn’t make it and now I guess I’m done; cancel the college auditions, close the piano, and never try out for another musical. I didn’t make it, and now I guess I’m done singing forever.

And then I said to myself: “Wait, what? That doesn’t make any sense. You didn’t get in at one audition, that doesn’t mean you should give up totally.”

And I replied, with stunning eloquence, “Yeah, well, whatever. That’s how I feel right now.”

To which I said, “Get over it. Mistakes happen and you can keep going. You don’t sing just so you can be the best, you sing because you like singing. And you’re going to keep singing because the results of one audition doesn’t dictate whether or not you should keep doing it or not.”

To which I replied, with dazzling wit, “Oh.

Leave a Reply

