How Does One…?

Call me Dr. Jekyll (or Mr. Hyde, if you prefer), because I live a double life. Yes, I confess; you wouldn’t know it by looking at me, but I am among the ranks of those whose day-life does not match their night-life, singing a classical repertoire by day and screaming out contemporary worship songs by night.
You may ask, what’s the problem with that? The problem is that healthy vocal production is one of the most important components of singing classically, and most contemporary worship songs were practically written to be shouted. Most worship songs start off slow and fairly low, but then build, and when they reach a crescendo, either the verse or the chorus is taken up an octave. When this happens, I have really no choice but to shout it out in a most unhealthy manner, because as I said, these songs are written to be shouted. If I tried to sing David Crowder’s “I AM” with healthy vocal production, I would just sound like a constipated opera baritone.
The problem starts with the simple fact that when you sing, whether with healthy vocal production or unhealthy vocal production, it builds habits. So when I sing worship songs, I build habits that make me a bad classical singer, and then classical singers refer to me by derogatory terms like Justin Bieber for having terrible vocal production. Quite often, if I have been singing a lot of contemporary and little classical, I have to be reminded of basic rules of vocal production and almost have to relearn to sing with good vocal production.
So what am I to do? How does one consistently build good singing habits instead of fluctuating between good and bad habits of vocal production?

Leave a Reply

